FALL EQUINOX RANT

City in Rainstorm

SHADOWS AND REFLECTIONS

Fall is a time of reflecting on what we have gathered, and then deciding what to keep and what to let go.   It is a time of hard decisions; of looking deep within and choosing which parts of ourselves and our lives to take along into the season of darkness.  For now, we enter again into the autumn months that gradually give way to deep winter.  We may need to leave behind some treasured hopes and ideas in order to sustain and help nurture some other more difficult and important responsibilities.

Personally, this year I need to forego some social entertainment, drop plans for home improvement, and delay pleasurable art and writing projects in order to concentrate on getting my finances in order.  I must focus paying off debts and creating enough savings to be able to retire from my job at Walmart in another year.   I will need to discipline my spending, keep a tight budget, juggle accounts, stretch a shrinking paycheck, and preserve a dwindling savings account.  This is not a pleasant idea for I have always been confident that I could afford what I wanted.  Now I worry if I can afford just what I basically need to get by.  Money is a subject I avoid thinking about.  I have always spurned the pinching of pennies that my frugal friends and relatives advise.  I need to heed them now.

On the bigger scale, for all of us in America this year, our challenge is to let go of old assumptions.  We must reexamine beliefs regarding the safety of our democratic nation; the basic fairness of our political system; the stability of our financial market; and of the very sanity of some of our leaders.   We need to face hard facts.  We need to let go old prejudices and foolish unchecked beliefs.  We need to face ugly facts of the consequences of our past non-actions and misdeeds.  We are faced with a choice in the presidential election between becoming a potential fascist dictatorship or sustaining and reenacting actual democratic reform.   I fear that too many of this nation’s people don’t pay attention and will make the wrong choice.  Younger voters are especially uninformed and easily misled.

I am afraid to say more of what I feel and think just now.   I shall leave that for a later rant.  My heart is too fearful of the evil in our world.

About Manywoman

I am an eclectic artist and writer, retired from a 35-year career as a PhD sex therapist and counselor at the University of MN Medical School, Program in Human Sexuality. Since retiring in 2005, I have devoted myself to hobbies and pursuits in various art forms and in writing. My art and writing both tend to focus on subjects of women's spirituality and occult mysteries, I read voraciously in most genres, but mainly Occult and urban fantasy, historical fiction, and non-fiction alternative history and religions from female perspective. In addition I am a lover of cats, with five at home with me; an avid collector of fashion dolls; a sewer and creator of art quilts and other fiber arts; a hap-hazard flower gardener; and a retired professional astrologer.
This entry was posted in Personal, Political, reflections, Season's Turnings, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

