MY DECLARATION OF FREEDOM FROM THE TYRANNY OF AUTHORSHIP

cropped-100_3398.jpg

I AM GIVING MYSELF A VACATION FROM WRITING

MY WELL OF INSPIRATION FOR THE ‘RAVEN SEQUEL’ HAS NEARLY RUN DRY

I HAVE A MOUNTAIN OF CHARACTERS, SCENES, SETTINGS, CRISIS AND TURNING POINTS

BUT I FIND NO REAL STORY… NO COMPELLING PLOT… NO ZING FOR THIS NOVEL

IT BORES ME.  IT FRUSTRATES ME. IT DRIVES ME NUTS

I NEED A BREAK FROM ‘WRITING-TO-PUBLISH’

A FURLOUGH TO CLEAR THE CLUTTER OF HALF-BAKED IDEAS

A HOLIDAY FROM THE PRESSURE TO PRODUCE A GOOD PLOT

A LEAVE-OF-ABSENCE IN WHICH TO RECUPERATE MY IMAGINATION

A HIATUS IN WHICH TO BRING IN FRESH CREATIVE PASSION

I WILL RELEASE MY MUSE TO FREELY PLAY WITH WHATEVER INSPIRES

TO GRASP ANY MOMENTARY INSPIRATION OR ATTRACTION

AND PLAY WITH IT AS LONG AS IT FEELS GOOD

PLAY WITH BEAUTY IN VARIED VENUES OF ART FOR THE REST OF THE SUMMER

OR SIMPLY READ, SURF THE NET AND DAYDREAM

FISHING FOR NEW IDEAS, DEEPER KNOWLEDGE, DIFFERENT TECHNIQUES

WITHOUT PRESSURE TO PRODUCE ANY SPECIFIC RESULT

JUST CREATE FOR THE JOY OF PLAYING WITH CREATIVE IDEAS

DO A LOT OF PHOTOGRAPHY

AND THEN MAKE SHUTTERFLY ALBUMS OF THE  PICTURES I TAKE

MY DOLLS AND OTHER COLLECTIBLES

VINTAGE CLOTHES ON MY GIANT BARBIE MANNEQUIN

FLOWERS IN MY YARD-GARDEN

MY CATS… INDOORS AND OUT

GO BACK INTO MY LONG-NEGLECTED STUDIO

AND RESUME SEWING ART QUILTS

MAYBE CREATE SOME CLOTH DOLLS

MAYBE PAINT A PICTURE OR TWO

CLEAN UP MY DYE-ROOM AND DYE UP SOME NEW YARDAGE

AND DO ANY OR ALL OF THIS  JUST FOR THE FUN OF IT!

NO PRESSURE, NO DEADLINE, NO REGRETS

 

OKAY…   I’M NOT TOTALLY DELUDED

I KNOW I WILL NOT DO ALL THIS IN THE NEXT THREE MONTHS

IT IS A DAY-DREAM THAT I SHOULD HAVE SO MUCH UNINTERRUPTED TIME

WITH NO OTHER DEMANDS, CONFLICTS OR INTERESTING PLANS TO ATTEND

BUT NOW I JUST NEED TO CHOOSE ONE PROJECT AND GET STARTED.

 

… TO BE CONTINUED, WITH REPORTS OF EXCITING NEW CREATIVE ENERGY…

HERE’S TO A GREAT SUMMER!

About Manywoman

I am an eclectic artist and writer, retired from a 35-year career as a PhD sex therapist and counselor at the University of MN Medical School, Program in Human Sexuality. Since retiring in 2005, I have devoted myself to hobbies and pursuits in various art forms and in writing. My art and writing both tend to focus on subjects of women's spirituality and occult mysteries, I read voraciously in most genres, but mainly Occult and urban fantasy, historical fiction, and non-fiction alternative history and religions from female perspective. In addition I am a lover of cats, with five at home with me; an avid collector of fashion dolls; a sewer and creator of art quilts and other fiber arts; a hap-hazard flower gardener; and a retired professional astrologer.
This entry was posted in Personal, Uncategorized, writing, Writing Practice. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

