AN ASTROLOGICAL KERFUFFLE IN GEMINI

 

whimsy2

whimsy2

GEMINI AND A MUTABLE GRAND CROSS

Around May 21 the sun entered the sign of Gemini.  I missed it and forgot to do a blog post for the season and now we are about halfway through this astrological month…

Yet it is so fitting for the mood of my previous post (Wandering in a Wilderness) which was early in the Gemini cycle… for this is the sign of ultimate mental and communicative confusion while one traverses one’s own dualities.

(I hope you will read my astrology entry about Gemini in the “Mythic Moments” tab at the top of the home page…it gives a more upbeat and thorough description of Gemini’s amazing energy.)

But now, to complicate matters, the new moon in Gemini on June 4th triggers a major astrological configuration__ a ‘mutable Grand Cross’, that foresees a period of significant challenge for the entire world.  It is a time when rigid ways of thinking will be challenged and split apart; when we are forced to face the opposite sides of issues and find the central point of balance where matters can bring resolution.

This energy can give heightened creativity with a hyper-flexibility that may help us to remain adaptable in the midst of unwanted or unexpected change.  The mutable grand cross can move us beyond limits that have been formerly set for us by the structures of our lives. These limits no longer work for us, they need to be moved aside, perhaps even washed away, so that we can open to new possibilities. But in that process we are likely to confront some peculiar realities, weird events, and confounding situations.   Gemini energy brings us face to face with otherness, and the mutable grand cross pulls us in many directions at once.

Gemini is an energy that can hold many options, opinions, and realities all at once.  A mutable sign, Gemini now makes direct connection with Sagittarius, Virgo and Pisces__ the three other mutable signs that each have the ability to exist among contradictions, live comfortably with duality and flow with change.

Yet this double-faced quality can also lead to scattered thinking, unpredictability, restlessness, superficiality, flightiness, boredom and at worst, hypocrisy, bitterness, and lying…   YIKES!

With Gemini as my rising sign (Ascendant) and also my Moon Sign, I feel bound to this Grand Cross…  I swing from elation to despair, from hope to ennui.   World weariness overtakes me and I want to burrow into my books and hobbies and hide from everything out there.  Yet again my curiosity drives me to search out the news, contact sources of information, seek inspiration for my creative ambitions and ideas.  Then a connection with friends spurs me to spring into action, my spirit leaps at the prospect of fun and laughter, shared projects, exchanged ideas.  But soon the novelty wears off and I am pacing between one project and another trying to focus in on something constructive or inspiring. Unable to choose, I dabble a bit in each and accomplish nothing.

Thus it is with the Gemini energy activated as it is this season, especially with the mutable Grand Cross.  So I give in to the whirlwind of my mind and spirit and try to let go and let be… hang in there for the ride and take each moment, each new mood as it arrives and let it drive me where it leads until the next one takes over…

One minute inspired to write, I write.  Then, a lovely sunny day calls me to get outside and work in my garden where I find joy and frustration and finally, a satisfied exhaustion.  This stirs a desire to mingle among friends and I call or go out to socialize.  The connection with others brings a new surge of inspiration to write or do some art project, which, in turn, stirs another impulse to dream and bask in the luxury of a peaceful moment.

But eventually something interrupts with a new problem or task needing to be tended and my energy shifts.  Worry or irritable anxiety drive me to action I’d rather not take, yet know I must__ make phone calls, pay bills, clean house.  So I do, and usually having done, feel satisfied… or depleted until a new mood swings onto the track of my mind, pulling me in yet another direction.

Somebody stop this train… I’m ready to get off!

About Manywoman

I am an eclectic artist and writer, retired from a 35-year career as a PhD sex therapist and counselor at the University of MN Medical School, Program in Human Sexuality. Since retiring in 2005, I have devoted myself to hobbies and pursuits in various art forms and in writing. My art and writing both tend to focus on subjects of women's spirituality and occult mysteries, I read voraciously in most genres, but mainly Occult and urban fantasy, historical fiction, and non-fiction alternative history and religions from female perspective. In addition I am a lover of cats, with five at home with me; an avid collector of fashion dolls; a sewer and creator of art quilts and other fiber arts; a hap-hazard flower gardener; and a retired professional astrologer.
This entry was posted in astrology, Personal, reflections, Season's Turnings, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to AN ASTROLOGICAL KERFUFFLE IN GEMINI

  1. Grandtrines says:

    Reblogged this on Lost Dudeist Astrology.

    Like

  2. Hey, I’m on the same train! I say we hold hands and jump off together. Ya?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

