ON STARTING A NEW YEAR

 

MATE-WIFE

TURNING CALENDARS TO A NEW YEAR… HELLO 2016!

I am slowly climbing out of my holiday slump. This blue mood has become an increasingly dreaded annual event for me __ a month-long period of fuzzy focus, blunted passion and cheerless self-pity haunted by memories of happier times with family and friends who are now deceased. In 2015 the deaths of several friends and two of my old cat buddies chipped new cracks in my heart.  It is a melancholy time for me.

Don’t get me wrong… I enjoy the quiet, restful ambiance of relaxing alone in my cozy home, my cat family around me, candles glowing, and soothing music on the stereo, a glass of wine in hand and many happy memories to ruminate on. I find a real sense of peace in the events of Solstice, Christmas, and New Year’s Eve as I celebrate them performing my small rituals of thanksgiving for all the blessings I’ve been given..

Friends make connections through Facebook, email, telephone, and letters throughout the month. They describe busy days of gifting and feasting with their large families, or of travel to exotic places for the winter. At work, I see more folks with whom to enjoy laughs and good cheer. It was a pleasant enough Holiday. I’m just glad it is over for one more year.

Now I will tackle some “promises” I made myself for 2016.

Top of the list is to firm up and follow a strict budget to get my finances in a more stable position… lots to do there. Then I plan to continue adding items to sell on my Etsy shop and also in my E Bay store… in the process I should be clearing out some of the clutter in my desk, files, shelves and closets!

By Spring I hope to have things in order enough that I can get back to writing and also finishing a number of my art projects. I plan to make 2016 a year of renewal and growth in myself so that I can participate in community and contribute more to a healing of Spirit in the world.

To you, my readers, I wish a happy, healthy, peaceful and prosperous 2016.

About Manywoman

I am an eclectic artist and writer, retired from a 35-year career as a PhD sex therapist and counselor at the University of MN Medical School, Program in Human Sexuality. Since retiring in 2005, I have devoted myself to hobbies and pursuits in various art forms and in writing. My art and writing both tend to focus on subjects of women's spirituality and occult mysteries, I read voraciously in most genres, but mainly Occult and urban fantasy, historical fiction, and non-fiction alternative history and religions from female perspective. In addition I am a lover of cats, with five at home with me; an avid collector of fashion dolls; a sewer and creator of art quilts and other fiber arts; a hap-hazard flower gardener; and a retired professional astrologer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment