MY 2015-16 HOLIDAY GREETING / RANT

 

EenasCreation_Phoenix_paper7

Dear Friends:

My holiday greeting is late this year. I simply have not been able to rouse a cheerful holiday spirit until now.

I confess that traditional wishes for a happy, joyous, or prosperous holiday ring empty and trite to me this season. I have grown cynical of the “spirit” of Christmas over the last few years as I see the world gradually decompose into a place of ever-increasing and perpetually intensifying hatred, killing, war, greed and fear.

It seemed to me that daily news makes the sacred season seem like a cruel sham… Some malicious god’s nasty joke.  For too many there is no joyful celebration, no hope of prosperity in today’s upside-down world…but then I am reminded that the world has been getting in this out-of-kilter condition for millennia. It seems to me that humans ride an ever-repeating Tilt-a-Whirl of Illusions from generation to generation, never learning from past mistakes.

In such a pessimistically disheartened state of mind, I despaired at the prospect of writing a positive holiday greeting.

So I am very grateful to receive heart-lifting, spirit-inspiring letters from a few dear wise friends. After reading them, I sat speechless, unable to match their loving spirit with words of my own. I can only echo and paraphrase a few of their thoughts and wishes here:

I am inspired by B and B to light my home with candles and myself with an inner flame in the cause of Peace. I need to transport that Light into my own heart first, where it might purge me of the despair I’ve been harboring there.

P and D remind me of the importance and power of positive thinking. I vow to check with my Higher Spirit daily and draw from Her the strength to forgive, but not surrender to the voices of fear-mongering, prejudice and hate. I will pursue serenity and fairness, feeding ‘good’ thoughts and starving the ‘bad’.

Another dear friend, S, models the courage to speak of the Hope and Promise of a New Age of spiritual healing. She inspires me to tell the tales of wisdom that have been passed down to us from avatars and spiritual healers through the ages: From the most venerable words of ancient scholars, teachers, gurus, psychics, and saviors we learn that the world was not born “in sin” but “in one-ness”.

We are being shown evidence of a greater Cosmic Presence and a Higher Purpose for our lives and the Earth’s inhabitants. Secrets that have been veiled in mysterious tales and vague references from renowned sources: Teachings of Jesus; Holy books of all religions; Legends from Native American and other aboriginal people worldwide; Traditions of women’s spirituality and Goddess worship throughout history; and in the magical mythologies of paganism, retold since prehistoric times… all of these contain the message that we are One with the Earth and with all her Creatures and Creation.

We are shown that Stars and Moon, the Sun and Planets, and the entire Cosmos contains what we call God… and we are a part of that too. We merely choose to visualize our gods differently depending on the view we are born into. No “One” way or view is right for everyone, yet all derive from the ONE.

Now Science__ arena of hardheaded, concrete, rational, skeptical thought__ finds more and more proof of the realities postulated by ancient wisdom teachings as anthropology and archaeology unearth evidence of the prehistoric beginnings of life and the evolution of earth’s creatures. They find strong evidence that we are all related, that all have evolved from a common seed, a universal Mother.

So I will dare to speak and write and pray for a true awakening of the wrong-headed, hate-riven, fear-mongered, demon-whipped, misled, hollow-hearted, greed-driven, apathetic, and mean-spirited souls infesting the planet.

I can do this knowing that more and more folk are waking up to the reality of the dangers that pose as solutions to the world’s struggle. And I am blessed to have some such people as my dearest friends.

Preview_EenasCreation_BirthOfThePhoenix

LET THE MIRACLES COME! LET LOVE PREVAIL! LET THE NEW AGE PROGRESS TO ITS PROMISED POTENTIAL AND LET LOVE OF LIFE PREVAIL OVER FEAR OF DEATH.

I close with a reminder from H’s letter: Trust that the Earth will stay in orbit; the Sun will continue to shine on all; the waters nourish rather than overwhelm us; and the Moon and Planets remain in their positions as guides for us, the earth bound, in our journeying toward a New World together.

In Hope, Peace, and Love   ~K
December 20, 2015

About Manywoman

I am an eclectic artist and writer, retired from a 35-year career as a PhD sex therapist and counselor at the University of MN Medical School, Program in Human Sexuality. Since retiring in 2005, I have devoted myself to hobbies and pursuits in various art forms and in writing. My art and writing both tend to focus on subjects of women's spirituality and occult mysteries, I read voraciously in most genres, but mainly Occult and urban fantasy, historical fiction, and non-fiction alternative history and religions from female perspective. In addition I am a lover of cats, with five at home with me; an avid collector of fashion dolls; a sewer and creator of art quilts and other fiber arts; a hap-hazard flower gardener; and a retired professional astrologer.
This entry was posted in Holidays, Personal, reflections, Season's Turnings, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

