GETTING PAST A LOG-JAM OF PLANS AND PROJECTS

2005montage 44-001

EAGER TO BEGIN A NEW WRITING PRACTICE

I am all fired up to begin a new regimen for boosting my creative spirit and getting past the writer’s slump and imagination stalemate that have plagued me all summer.

I want to break through this mental logjam in order to re-write and edit three stories I began years ago. I am determined to see at least a couple of them published before I run out of steam. Oh, and there is the sequel to The Raven Watched that I want to do too!

I also want to get back into my sewing studio and finish about ten art-quilt projects that I abandoned over the last few years. Some of these I plan to list for sale on my Etsy store, others are just for friends or myself.  Mostly I just want them done so I can move on to other ideas for my sewing and dye-work.  I have notebooks crammed with inspiring ideas which simply languish in file drawers.

Thinking about each of these multiple projects has simply paralyzed my creative energy and blocked my imagination’s flow. It is time to STOP THINKING and JUST DO IT!

So, with this purpose in mind, I have enlisted in a writers program called BIAM. That’s the acronym for “Book in a Month”. There is also an online support group called National Novel Writing Month, or “nanowrimo”!!  The program aims simply to help a writer complete the first draft of a new novel in thirty days!

This sounded crazy to me at first, but I have learned that lots of writers use this system to keep their creative juices flowing. I’ve read the materials and am prepared to begin my first effort on October 1. It entails writing just a certain number of pages per day (depending on the estimated length of your book) and keeping to the main story line only, without subplots or other side material which can all be added in later edits. So, it is not about getting a book publish-ready, but to get the main thing worked up enough to boost enthusiasm and determination to keep working on it.

Additionally, I found and ordered two books by Julia Cameron on inspiring creativity and awakening hidden talents. She advocates a daily practice of exercises designed to unlock innate creative abilities. There are affirmations and self-searching assignments that involve doing something concrete… not just psychoanalyzing oneself.

This program entails writing three “morning pages” of anything and everything on your mind when you first get up. I began my journal of three pages a day this morning and my mind already feels freed of some of the garbage I tend to “ruminate” over in planning my day’s path.

Cameron also recommends making a weekly “Play Date” with your inner child artist self.  Here you simply find something fun and entertaining to do for a couple of hours.  It is meant to lighten and inspire the creative spirit and make you break away from the concentrated work of writing or creating your art.  By taking the time to relax and play, you are likely to come back to your project with renewed inspiration.

Looks like I will have to be getting up earlier, which also means I’d better learn not to spend quite as long reading before going to bed. That may be the hardest part since reading before bed is my very favorite thing of the day!

I will have to abstain from surfing Facebook at night at least! (lol)

You can expect to find me reporting my progress (or bemoaning my lack thereof) on these blog posts from time to time. In any case, I’m eager to get started now! Wish me luck!

BTW: I have posted the beginnings of two of the unfinished novels under my Writing tab at the top of this page. If you get a chance to read one please let me know your thoughts!

About Manywoman

I am an eclectic artist and writer, retired from a 35-year career as a PhD sex therapist and counselor at the University of MN Medical School, Program in Human Sexuality. Since retiring in 2005, I have devoted myself to hobbies and pursuits in various art forms and in writing. My art and writing both tend to focus on subjects of women's spirituality and occult mysteries, I read voraciously in most genres, but mainly Occult and urban fantasy, historical fiction, and non-fiction alternative history and religions from female perspective. In addition I am a lover of cats, with five at home with me; an avid collector of fashion dolls; a sewer and creator of art quilts and other fiber arts; a hap-hazard flower gardener; and a retired professional astrologer.
This entry was posted in Plans and Promotions, Uncategorized, writing, Writing Practice and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

