DEMANDS OF THE SEASON

24-Shots for calendars 04 290

VIRGO AND ME

Today (August 23)  begins the Season of Virgo, the end-of-summer phase in our annual solar journey through the Zodiac. Following directly on the heels of the pagan ‘cross-quarter’ holiday called “Lammas”, which falls midway between Summer Solstice and Autumn Equinox, Virgo is closely attuned to the blessings and gifts of Nature and Earth.

While I have included a more detailed description of Virgo’s themes and characteristics in my “SEASON OF VIRGO” post on the MYSTIC MOMENTS page above, I feel compelled to share some effects this season brings for me. Even the idea that I should feel compelled to write this post comes from the particular ‘energy of Virgo’ currently bathing the earth’s subconscious energy-field at this time of year.

Virgo energy drives a need to bring order and balance into the world and our personal lives. It is said to be a sign of the Healer and the Teacher, motivated by goals of usefulness, practicality, and perfection. It is energy that promotes beauty for functional purposes and eschews that which exists primarily to please the senses with no utilitarian mission.

Now, in my personal and very individual perspective, these are fine attributes which I should perhaps strive harder to attain. Yet they are qualities that tend to allude me most of the time. My birth sign is Pisces. On the wheel of astrology, it is the opposite of Virgo. So, while I admire many ‘Virgoans’ whom I know, I do not easily conform to their expectations of sensible order and meaning in life, beauty, nature and philosophy. I am a Dreamer, the antithesis of a practical achiever. In short, Virgo is one of the Signs that rubs me the wrong way!

I do feel very much in tune with the Season as it is celebrated at Lammas, for that is a time of counting the blessings we are given by Earth, Nature, and Spirit. At this point in my yearly journey I want to sort things out and clean up my daily practical life of all extraneous little chores and duties I have amassed during the long lazy days of summer. I feel driven to get things in order and put myself on a productive and well-ordered track for the coming seasons of fall and winter. Here Virgo’s energy can be most helpful and welcome.

Yet I fear my goals and ambitions do not lead to very “productive” or “utilitarian” purpose. I create to make something pretty, something pleasing to the senses and nothing more. I write to entertain both myself and my readers, with no particularly practical result for anyone’s real-life situation. If a piece of my art or writing moves someone to see life in a new light, to understand themselves and others better, or__ best of all__ motivates them to take actions that work toward bringing peace and healing into this chaotic world, I would be so delighted. But I do not hold such expectations. I seem motivated more by pleasure than practicality.

Yet wait! I need to correct myself here. For when I think about the “Themes” of most of my creative pieces I see that there is indeed an underlying “message” and “lesson” carried within them. I have a hidden motivation that is quite tangible, though not so realistically achievable. It is almost always about raising awareness of the Power of Woman within the Patriarchal dominance of this world. It is always motivated by a desire to inspire other women (and myself) to take charge of our own lives and then move into our relationships and work with a self-sufficient confidence that brings results leading to a better more peaceful and balanced society.

WELL! So, Virgo is clearly present and influential in my consciousness. My opposite sister on the Wheel of Life is a strong presence deserving my respect and gratitude. She no doubt plays some significant role in keeping me from going off the deep end with my meanderings and dreamy pondering! She helps me see reason and practical meaning in my endeavors. She helps me find humility and self-forgiveness. I can embrace Virgo’s energy and welcome it gladly without getting defensive. Whew! Now I can roll up my sleeves and get down to some real-world work! …for a while anyway, until my muse or the dream-fairy comes calling again!

About Manywoman

I am an eclectic artist and writer, retired from a 35-year career as a PhD sex therapist and counselor at the University of MN Medical School, Program in Human Sexuality. Since retiring in 2005, I have devoted myself to hobbies and pursuits in various art forms and in writing. My art and writing both tend to focus on subjects of women's spirituality and occult mysteries, I read voraciously in most genres, but mainly Occult and urban fantasy, historical fiction, and non-fiction alternative history and religions from female perspective. In addition I am a lover of cats, with five at home with me; an avid collector of fashion dolls; a sewer and creator of art quilts and other fiber arts; a hap-hazard flower gardener; and a retired professional astrologer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

