BLESSINGS, CURSES, AND LESSONS LEARNED

100_9856

Tree-fall

Tree-fall

BLESSINGS OR CURSES?

Sometimes blessings can become curses while curses can be blessings in disguise.

Have you ever noticed how sometimes something happens that feels good but ends up being a problem, while at other times something that disappoints you turns out to have been the best thing to happen?

I was delighted by the birth of kittens to the pair of outdoor cats living in my carport two years ago. It was such fun to watch the babies scamper and play about the yard. But soon they were running around my garden and smashed down some of my favorite Hosta plants, killed a beautiful old bleeding heart bush and mowed down many other flowers. I made futile efforts to set barriers around the plants. But that only roused the little beast’s curiosity and provided new objects for the kittens to explore and destroy.  I felt cursed!

Because I was negligent and failed to have that group spayed, three of those kittens grew up and collectively produced a new tribe of 13 kittens the following spring. This time I took steps to begin a spay-neuter program with as many as I could afford. In the end, ten cats and kittens were ‘fixed’. Then five of those kittens stayed to live under the carport and became quite tame. These young cats delighted me through the fall and winter, as there was no chance of them presenting more kittens. Now I felt blessed.

But this summer, one of the original mother cats returned with a new litter of kittens. Now I have the prospect of yet another batch of kittens to contend with. And even more disappointingly, the mother cat chased away my favorite tamed cats in order to make room for her new brood. Now we must embark upon another live-trapping ordeal. So the outdoor cat situation continues to go from good to bad and from better to worse.

A storm recently blew a huge old tree down on my porch roof.  Although no damage occurred to the house, it felt like a wretched disaster because it totally ruined a large area of my yard where some of my favorite flowers grew. These wild perennial flowers had died back over the past several years, and I had been thrilled to find them beginning to return this summer.  Now they will not bloom again this year… or maybe not for many years again.  Cursed!

Yet, with this area of the garden spoiled for the season, I can begin a major revamp of the yard. Since I no longer have the time or energy to tend to the garden as I did, I want to put in larger areas of grass and low ground-cover, with more controlled flower areas. Perhaps the tree-fall is a blessing in disguise as it allows me to begin this process more easily.

In my art studio hang several “unfinished masterpieces”__ Art quilts I designed and began sewing, but lost enthusiasm for due to some glitch in the construction process. Later, when I go back to one or another of them, I can feel inspired to tackle the project anew. This ‘ripening’ period often causes me to change my approach to the quilt with a fresh perspective, which usually results in a more satisfying final product.

I began making a fabric pet portrait of a friend’s dog three years ago. But other matters intervened and the art-quilt still sits waiting for completion. While I have forced myself back to sewing it lately, my enthusiasm had slumped. Then I chanced on an article that inspired me to try a new procedure for one particularly tedious part of this design. Now I feel energized to get back to the project. I am excited to see how the new technique might even improve my original design.

Some months ago, on a whim, I ordered a new smart phone. It arrived and I found that it did not work. I exchanged it for another, thinking the phone was faulty. But the second one failed to connect to my wi-fi and network just like the first one. Turned out that my Internet Service Provider is at fault and does not connect with the phone carrier I had contracted.

Then came months of attempting to get the contract cancelled via internet and phone calls to the phone company. (I won’t name names) I found it nearly impossible to connect with a real live person as everything is automated! But finally I had a day with extra time to kill and hung on the phone through countless switches and re-connections until there actually was a living, breathing person on the other end of the line. This blessed angel of a woman patiently took me through a tedious process that finally allowed me to CANCEL the contract!

What a relief. I think it will be a while before I try to upgrade my smart phone, but when I do I will make the change through my current carrier that works perfectly with my provider. I have yet to see the positive blessing from this cursed incident. But getting free of the issue is a great relief, and who knows? Perhaps I will eventually find an even better plan and ‘smarter’ phone.

One thing I am learning: In many cases the problems or “curses” I encounter turn out to have been caused by my own negligence or ignorance. I am learning to stop ranting and start looking more closely at my own actions. Re-trying and patiently staying with a problem usually does result in its solution better than tearing my hair and cussing does!!!

The old saying: ‘if you get lemons, make lemonade’ is always true. Learning to make the best of each situation is an art I am trying to master. Some days this is much easier to do than some other days.

To this regard, I want to remind you to check out the Mythic Moments page above.  There you will find a new entry for the Astrological Season of  Leo, which will begin on July 22 this year.   This sunny, Light-Hearted, and creative energy should encourage me to let go of the issues in this post and appreciate our beautiful, fleeting summer.  Leo season brings us a big dose of healing cheerful energy!  Let’s get out and grab some!

About Manywoman

I am an eclectic artist and writer, retired from a 35-year career as a PhD sex therapist and counselor at the University of MN Medical School, Program in Human Sexuality. Since retiring in 2005, I have devoted myself to hobbies and pursuits in various art forms and in writing. My art and writing both tend to focus on subjects of women's spirituality and occult mysteries, I read voraciously in most genres, but mainly Occult and urban fantasy, historical fiction, and non-fiction alternative history and religions from female perspective. In addition I am a lover of cats, with five at home with me; an avid collector of fashion dolls; a sewer and creator of art quilts and other fiber arts; a hap-hazard flower gardener; and a retired professional astrologer.
This entry was posted in Personal, reflections, Season's Turnings, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

