BEWARE OF MERCURY RETROGRADE

44-222-scan grp 27 - Europe 67 Spain Paris 004

WARNING:  MERCURY TURNS RETROGRADE UNTIL JUNE 12.

As of yesterday, (May 18) Mercury is retrograde in the Sign of Gemini.

That’s gibberish to many folks, but in astrological terms it means that the planet appears to be moving backward in its orbit due to the rotation of Earth in relation to Mercury. This phenomenon happens about three or four times a year, and to several other planets as well, but at different times. So what’s the big deal?

I will answer that with a question: Have you noticed things kind of “slowing down” in your life recently?

I have heard several friends complain of experiencing just such a sense of time “standing still” or “nothing getting done as planned” or interruptions and breakdowns of vehicles with travel; or misplacing things needed to complete a task; or just plain lack of motivation to work on some planned project.

During Mercury retrograde, especially matters involving communication__ mail, phones, computers, buying and selling, travel, and just plain communicating with other people to make appointments or lunch dates__ some or all of these matters suddenly get balled up, confused, postponed, or just go off the rails somehow so they don’t get done.

This has been true for me in spades for the last week! Just about everything I planned to do did not get done because of some kind of crazy screw-up.  I had taken time off from work to get started on a long list of new projects. But instead I was tearing my hair and bawling with frustration more than once over lost and misplaced stuff, computer misfires, printer breakdown, and missed or cancelled appointments__ until I remembered Mercury Retrograde.

Mercury is the planet that “rules” all such matters in our lives. It is the planet of communications and travel. In mythology Mercury was the Trickster god, who caused mayhem with people’s plans and communications when he was crossed. He is also the god of good times, partying, and drinking… for he is the Roman counterpart to Dionysus as the god of revelry and wine.

Now I know that I must simply put aside things that I am trying to initiate or plan or do for new growth and future changes. Anything I do during this time with an idea of it making a change in my life for future should be put off until after June 12. If I do start something now, it is very likely to be changed in some significant way or not go according to plan later.

Meanwhile, this does not mean I should just sit on my behind and meditate or read or stay in bed with the covers over my head. (At least not all of the time, although some would be good) I need to take this opportunity to go back to things I have left unfinished in the past.

It is an excellent time to review matters or issues with others that are not resolved and get them wrapped up so you can move on from there. It is also a good time to re-connect with people whom you have not seen for a long period. Neglected correspondence, unpaid bills, unfinished projects begun at an earlier time and left to sit on the back burner… pull them to the front now and get them done.

This begins to look like a lot to do in just three weeks, but of course we don’t need to do every single one of them… only those that will clear the path to getting some of our future plans underway successfully after June 12.

We get another of these Mercury Retrograde things later in the year, so watch for it and be prepared. I certainly plan to.

About Manywoman

I am an eclectic artist and writer, retired from a 35-year career as a PhD sex therapist and counselor at the University of MN Medical School, Program in Human Sexuality. Since retiring in 2005, I have devoted myself to hobbies and pursuits in various art forms and in writing. My art and writing both tend to focus on subjects of women's spirituality and occult mysteries, I read voraciously in most genres, but mainly Occult and urban fantasy, historical fiction, and non-fiction alternative history and religions from female perspective. In addition I am a lover of cats, with five at home with me; an avid collector of fashion dolls; a sewer and creator of art quilts and other fiber arts; a hap-hazard flower gardener; and a retired professional astrologer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to BEWARE OF MERCURY RETROGRADE

  1. sundog3 says:

    CAN I RELATE TO THIS!!!!!!! 😦

    Like

Leave a Reply

