INTERRUPTIONS AND IRRITATIONS

slide scans grp 17 055

WHAT I’VE (NOT) DONE ON MY “VACATION” SO FAR

Well, I am half-way through my ten-day break, and so far I have accomplished very little!

Started off nicely with some good research and reading in preparation for getting back to writing. Then things went off the rails as my printer quit working, and nothing would fix it. Need to get a new one… no big deal as they aren’t that costly… just a nuisance.

Then major interruptions of a series of phone conversations regarding health insurance and financial stuff I’m trying to maneuver through. Nothing too critical but it is all another nuisance to me right now. Not on my list of things to do on my vacation!!!

Then I discovered I had missed a utility payment and got a letter warning me that my power would be turned off. On the phone immediately to make the payment by credit card and that fixed that issue okay.

This kind of stuff throws me way off stride and it takes me awhile to find my focus again. Must be another age-thing, how I make stupid mistakes when I have several things on my mind.

This morning I began making a pot of coffee and forgot to put the water into the machine! I caught that before I totally wrecked the machine anyway. At least it is something to laugh about later when joking with friends!

Emails are a regular time-killer as I accumulate up to a hundred a day.  And Facebook can produce lots of wasted time when the “News-line” presents nothing of interest to me.  Yet I feel compelled to check each one at least once a day.

Problem is, when I begin making mistakes or get irritated by interruptions and tiresome obligations, my self-confidence takes a dive and it’s hard to pull back up. So, where do I go when I need to nurture myself out of a foul mood? (Though I’m tempted to just pour myself a drink and forget about it, I do still have enough self-discipline to avoid that.)

There are several non-productive but up-lifting things I like to do to kill time when I’m not able to get myself going on a “Project”. Top of the list is to just sit and read something I happen to have on my table… usually a non-fiction book or a newsy informational article.  (I figure this is not time wasted as it does help me get informed about the world away from me and my own tired stuff.)

A big one on my list of “things to do when killing time” is Pinterest. I can lose an hour or more on Pinterest easy. I totally love all the “eye candy” and the process of collecting more awesome photos into my “Boards”: Fashion from history; Beautiful scenic places; Cute kids and animals; Abandoned and lonely places; Awesome colors and art-work; and, of course, lots of Mystical magical Faery stuff. I tell myself I am collecting ideas for my writing and art… which is true of course, but not the reason I go there. Escape is the deal.

Another way I escape is to go outdoors and take pictures. But the rainy week we are having is not very compelling for taking pics. My cats, of course, are always a good source of entertainment when they are not just laying around sleeping.

And, after all,  I guess I can justify all this by the fact that this is supposed to be Vacation Time… and being a bit lazy is okay… Right?

PS: It appears that my Blog may also be a way for me to kill time as I learn to navigate it more easily!   Ha!  This is on my “List” of things to do… so there!  

Check this out:   I have added some new Pages: 1):  My Artwork and Photography.  Just a beginning  2): another story “A Roaring Deep Inside” which will be found under the “My Published Writings” as a sub-page.

About Manywoman

I am an eclectic artist and writer, retired from a 35-year career as a PhD sex therapist and counselor at the University of MN Medical School, Program in Human Sexuality. Since retiring in 2005, I have devoted myself to hobbies and pursuits in various art forms and in writing. My art and writing both tend to focus on subjects of women's spirituality and occult mysteries, I read voraciously in most genres, but mainly Occult and urban fantasy, historical fiction, and non-fiction alternative history and religions from female perspective. In addition I am a lover of cats, with five at home with me; an avid collector of fashion dolls; a sewer and creator of art quilts and other fiber arts; a hap-hazard flower gardener; and a retired professional astrologer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to INTERRUPTIONS AND IRRITATIONS

  1. sundog3 says:

    Your behavior sounds so much like John. He totally looses it. See you this afternoon.
    Love, Barb

    Like

Leave a Reply

