BURIED IN AN AVALANCHE OF PASSWORDS

100_5493-001

BURIED IN AN AVALANCHE OF PASSWORDS AND INTERNET DATA

These may be the death of me someday soon.

Back in 2001, I entered the world of e-commerce with my self-constructed website and the online “Goddess Wheel” workshop. At that time I began keeping a small notebook in which I hastily scribbled internet sites I used and their passwords.

Over the years this little book has grown fat with pages, ragged with use, and totally maddening to search in. The entries are organized hodge-podge in the order that I subscribed to them. Many were used but once or twice and are long forgotten. Others have continued as regular places I visit online, but most of their passwords have been changed periodically and crossed off, scribbled, and become indecipherable.

Paging through this little catalog for a current password is nothing but a huge crazy-making, time-killing ordeal. This is especially so when, in a flurry of inspired ideas, I want to get in and out of a site quickly.

My browser (Firefox) is very helpful with its lists of favorites and sites most visited and history of recently viewed sites. But it will not tell me the GD PASSWORD!! Yes, I understand why but it does not prevent me from gnashing my teeth, cussing a blue streak, tearing out my hair, and generally threatening to throw out the whole effing machine.

So now I prepare to bite the bullet, sit down and hand-copy all the current address URLs, and my corresponding “user names” and passwords into a nice alphabetically organized address book. Duh!

I like to think I am well organized. Guess I’d better re-think that one!

About Manywoman

I am an eclectic artist and writer, retired from a 35-year career as a PhD sex therapist and counselor at the University of MN Medical School, Program in Human Sexuality. Since retiring in 2005, I have devoted myself to hobbies and pursuits in various art forms and in writing. My art and writing both tend to focus on subjects of women's spirituality and occult mysteries, I read voraciously in most genres, but mainly Occult and urban fantasy, historical fiction, and non-fiction alternative history and religions from female perspective. In addition I am a lover of cats, with five at home with me; an avid collector of fashion dolls; a sewer and creator of art quilts and other fiber arts; a hap-hazard flower gardener; and a retired professional astrologer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to BURIED IN AN AVALANCHE OF PASSWORDS

  1. Barb Armour says:

    I’m so proud of you Karin. I have very few passwords and have those listed on a sheet of paper. I’m tired of trying to keep track of all that. Take care now.
    Barb

    Like

  2. Manywoman says:

    Thanks, Barb, sweetie: You lift my spirits on a rainy day! Luv ya. ~Karin

    Like

Leave a Reply

