A MEANDER IN METHODS AND WAYS… WANDERING THROUGH DAYS

Previous set scans unedited 668

A MEANDER ABOUT METHODS AND WAYS… WANDERING THROUGH THE DAYS

ON the best kind of morning, before my ‘real’ day begins, I relish a few minutes of expansive hope, good will, and confidence. I direct my thoughts to my inner Guides and Angels, imploring them to help me make it a good day in which I accomplish something positively productive. I get up and start on a specific project that I have chosen from a number of tasks awaiting my attention.
That is a good day. I aim my focus to my chosen goal and activity of the day. Diving into a writing, sewing, designing, gardening, or even (Aaaargh!) a house-cleaning project, I usually achieve my goals and end up with a great feeling of accomplishment. At the end of the day I’m happy.

But not every day is such a good day. When I lose focus, my energy gets scattered among nameless, pointless activities that eat up time and leave me with nothing accomplished. I become distracted by trivial matters or events beyond my ability to control. On such a day I may sit and stare at my “Do Lists”, sort through piles of papers, and wander from one room into another forgetting why I’m there. I berate myself for being lazy and foolish. At the end of that day I’m crabby.

The key for me seems to be “Don’t Think, Just DO”. I can get lost in a maze of plans and dreams and creative ideas. Sometimes this is okay, and even feels productive in itself if my focus has been scattered and I needed some definite sense of direction, encouragement to put me back on track with my life.

However, there are other kinds of good days as well. There are those times when I have wonderful plans for things to do with friends. A theater date, a lunch date, a shopping date, a party or reunion, a trip to the city for an art show or other large event or just a walk in the woods, a drive around the countryside: such plans give me heightened energy and put me into a hyper-happy mood. Doesn’t’ take much! Just something that pulls me away from my usually focused plans. I feel free, pumped up, ready for happy surprises, anticipating fun.

And then there are the days of unexpected problems, worries, fears, sorrow or grief. These are the dreaded days… those I fervently pray will not come. They are the days of sad news about a friend’s illness, tragedy, death. Days when the World interferes with frightening or maddening events in the news. Days when danger threatens in the form of weather events, or the illness of one of my cats, or my own health issues. They are times when I must draw on stored up reserves of courage, hope, love, and perseverance.

Yet, such days, once entered in full spirit and determination, can bring a sense of real accomplishment. Once such a day has passed and matters are settled one way or another, I experience a feeling of liberation from some inner shackles that have kept me imprisoned in anxiety or remorse. At the end of such a period of days, I feel like I have grown in strength and wisdom. I know myself better and can forgive my own failings. I feel humble, in touch with my Higher Power, devoutly grateful. Glad to be me. I rejoice in Life.

About Manywoman

I am an eclectic artist and writer, retired from a 35-year career as a PhD sex therapist and counselor at the University of MN Medical School, Program in Human Sexuality. Since retiring in 2005, I have devoted myself to hobbies and pursuits in various art forms and in writing. My art and writing both tend to focus on subjects of women's spirituality and occult mysteries, I read voraciously in most genres, but mainly Occult and urban fantasy, historical fiction, and non-fiction alternative history and religions from female perspective. In addition I am a lover of cats, with five at home with me; an avid collector of fashion dolls; a sewer and creator of art quilts and other fiber arts; a hap-hazard flower gardener; and a retired professional astrologer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A MEANDER IN METHODS AND WAYS… WANDERING THROUGH DAYS

  1. Barb Armour says:

    Hi Karin…
    You express yourself so well! I find myself saying yes, that’s how I feel sometimes, right on Karin. Thank you for sharing your thoughts so well. happy East to you and your kitties!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Barb Armour says:

    I meant Happy Easter Karin 🙂

    Like

  3. Manywoman says:

    Got it. Thanks.

    Like

Leave a Reply

