MY BLOG IS GROWING__ NEW PAGES COMING SOON!

Posted on March 29, 2015 by Manywoman

(SPOILER WARNING: SOME BLATANT PROMOTION AHEAD!)

slide scans group 14 023

Today I have added quite a lot of new material into the Page for my book “The Raven Watched“. It fills in some feedback from readers, and gives a bit of information on how and why I wrote the book. There is also a link that takes you directly to this book’s page on Amazon where it can be purchased. Do go in and take a look at it. (It sells on Kindle as well as Amazon, and at a much lower price.)

Now I feel the pull of ideas for writing a sequel and also for completing and publishing a few other books in my files from writing classes and elsewhere. I am eager to get on with another book, but fear I would not live long enough to finish any at the rate I wrote this one. Perhaps I have learned to trust my judgement and just write what I like and get it published. (I must learn to let others make their judgements without feeling too easily hurt or flattered!) The greatest blessing I got from having delayed so long is that the independent publishing world has grown to be a respectable venue for authors. Back when I began looking for a way to publish, “indie” was still considered second-rate or worse. It truly makes it so much easier to write and publish, but now the hard part of promoting and selling does fall upon the author’s shoulders since most of us writers are not avid business people!! Nor can we afford the expense of hiring a publicist. Aaargh!

I will add a number of special pages to this Blog in days and months to come. One will feature other writings I select from the reams of material I wrote in the on-line classes I took years ago… (some of those pieces are pretty entertaining, if far from finished for publishing.) Another separate page may be constructed for show-casing my “master-work” SEX AND THE GODDESS, which has yet to be finalized for publication and may not be done for quite a while. And then, in a separate place, I hope to begin posting about books I am reading or authors I have read and loved.

In a completely different vein, watch for several “Gallery/Slide-Show” pages. Some will feature my Art Quilts, which can be viewed in my several other web pages listed in the “Blogroll” on the footer of every page. Another will very likely be a more personal gallery of pictures of my kitties and from my garden and daily life. Oh, and somewhere I will post pictures from trips to Europe way back in the 1960’s because I ‘found’ the old 35-mm slides on which they were developed a couple years ago, and after transferring them into my computer, I was blown away by how good some of them are! I had a very nice Zeiss-Icon camera back then and had learned to use it fairly well. Now, I no longer travel, and I only take (rather poor) pics with a digital camera, so these pictures will no doubt feature in several places as I continue with this Blog.

These are all plans for the future, so if you are interested in seeing some of the art quilts now, or would like to read snatches from SEX AND THE GODDESS, go to my original website that I built using HTML way back around 2001:

http://www.karinweiss.com/

Because I no longer remember how to do the editing with HTML (and don’t want to take the time to review that now) I am no longer adding new stuff to that site. But it is alive and quite entertaining, as it includes some more esoteric material than that which I have (yet) included here. (think “occult” and “astrology” and “tarot”)

Which leads me to another eventual plan for this Blog, or perhaps another whole separate site! (YIKES!) This one will be for ASTROLOGY. Just how I will set it up is still uncertain. I am planning to give things a ‘test run’ soon, using some friends who are asking me for updates on the charts I wrote for them years ago. It has been many years since I’ve actually practiced as an Astrologer, but I have all my writing from then saved and can quite easily recover that. The hard part is getting the time to calculate and draw the charts again… and then promote the revised business. Feedback or thoughts on this anyone??? Please let me know.

This last, I must add, has been moved up on my “Do-list” recently as I have come to a strong decision to retire from my day-job at Wal-Mart by the end of this year. (!!) This is not an easy decision for many reasons: not the least of which is financial. But I am truly tired of working and desperately need more time for my projects. I may try to stay on at minimal part-time for awhile, just to keep my foot in the door. But I promised myself a few years ago that I would stay til I turned 75… and VOILA! Here I am!!!

About Manywoman

I am an eclectic artist and writer, retired from a 35-year career as a PhD sex therapist and counselor at the University of MN Medical School, Program in Human Sexuality. Since retiring in 2005, I have devoted myself to hobbies and pursuits in various art forms and in writing. My art and writing both tend to focus on subjects of women's spirituality and occult mysteries, I read voraciously in most genres, but mainly Occult and urban fantasy, historical fiction, and non-fiction alternative history and religions from female perspective. In addition I am a lover of cats, with five at home with me; an avid collector of fashion dolls; a sewer and creator of art quilts and other fiber arts; a hap-hazard flower gardener; and a retired professional astrologer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

