VANITY AND SELF-DISCLOSURE or TRUTH AND CONSEQUENCES?

Selfie 2 Selfie 3

Although I have imagined this Blog to be only about my writing and art, I find it is becoming something much more personal.  Yesterday I wrote new material into the ‘About’ page, (now retitled “All About Me”).

I wrote an outline of my personal history and added a gallery of photos of myself at different stages of my life.   Although this is not exactly “True Confessions”,   I fear I went a bit “over the top” with it.  Yet, it is there and will stay, so I would be happy to hear your thoughts on the matter… (I think!)

Like most people I love talking about myself.  However, in my work and career I have been the one to listen while others talked about themselves.   Self disclosure has been saved for my closest friends and intimates.

What’s more, as a kid I was taught that it was selfish to focus on my own thoughts and feelings.  Now, although I know it is a perfectly natural and healthy thing to do, I  still feel abashed talking about myself.  With age and experience I came to realize we can only know ourselves.  Talking about others is guesswork at best, or malicious gossip.  We can never know an other person’s real thoughts or true feelings unless they are honest with us about them.  It all makes perfect sense.  We, in fact have an obligation to be truthful about our feelings and thoughts.

Yet I find myself apologizing for and explaining my own choices.  Must be feeling paranoid today!   Do check out that “All About Me” page and let me know what you think.  Thanks!

 

About Manywoman

I am an eclectic artist and writer, retired from a 35-year career as a PhD sex therapist and counselor at the University of MN Medical School, Program in Human Sexuality. Since retiring in 2005, I have devoted myself to hobbies and pursuits in various art forms and in writing. My art and writing both tend to focus on subjects of women's spirituality and occult mysteries, I read voraciously in most genres, but mainly Occult and urban fantasy, historical fiction, and non-fiction alternative history and religions from female perspective. In addition I am a lover of cats, with five at home with me; an avid collector of fashion dolls; a sewer and creator of art quilts and other fiber arts; a hap-hazard flower gardener; and a retired professional astrologer.
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to VANITY AND SELF-DISCLOSURE or TRUTH AND CONSEQUENCES?

  1. Bev Seabloom says:

    —-and Karin, you are so much more! A Wonderful Woman friend, one who has much wisdom to share with others, so much insight, and a dear friend. Beverly

    Like

Leave a Reply

