WHO AM I?

WHO AM I?
I am an eclectic artist and writer, retired from a 35-year career as a PhD sex therapist and counselor at the University of MN Medical School, Program in Human Sexuality. Since retiring in 2005, I have devoted myself to hobbies and pursuits in various art forms and in writing. My art and writing both tend to focus on subjects of women’s spirituality and occult mysteries, I read voraciously in most genres, but mainly Occult and urban fantasy, historical fiction, and non-fiction alternative history and religions from female perspective. In addition I am a lover of cats, with five at home with me; an avid collector of fashion dolls; a sewer and creator of art quilts and other fiber arts; a hap-hazard flower gardener; and a retired professional astrologer.
At the moment I am struggling to construct this Blog so that I can post information in it about things I am attempting to make, sell, write, sew, and learn. My “do list” is so long I don’t know how I will live long enough to accomplish it all. And that doesn’t even include my “bucket list” of things I just dream of doing for the fun of it. I will be 75 on my birthday, March 16, 2015. I am fortunate to be in quite good health, with no major issues except an elevated blood pressure and some dental problems. Most of the time I feel confident and happy with my life and pretty well ‘in control’ of things… but there are days…
Along with the main postings and pages of my writing and artwork in this blog, I plan to include some more personal pondering.
I hope to be able to vent some of my frustrations and confusions, express some opinions, share some laughs, air some grievances, and divulge some hopes and dreams. My nature is one of a rather eccentric philosopher, so such “Ramblings” will surely lead in unexpected directions, if not down some totally bizarre avenues.
As a “Dreamer” I do ramble on, and while I try to write fluently and clearly, the path of my thoughts can sometimes go far astray from their original goal. (This could also be a matter of my age, of course, but I believe I have always been this way.) My sense of humor can get a bit warped and silly at times, for the Pisces in me can be whimsical as well as spiritually mystical.
These are but a few of the ways I can describe myself, to which others no doubt would hesitate to say, yet agree. So, this Blog may evolve into something of a serendipitous exploration of brilliant insights or merely a random survey of mundane thoughts. I forgot to mention I am an incorrigible skeptic regarding human nature and the nature of our man-made world.

a fairyland art quilt by Karin E Weiss

Woodland Faery Circus

So with all that as my “purpose” in writing this public journal, I find I still cannot say who or which of all these I Am.

About Manywoman

I am an eclectic artist and writer, retired from a 35-year career as a PhD sex therapist and counselor at the University of MN Medical School, Program in Human Sexuality. Since retiring in 2005, I have devoted myself to hobbies and pursuits in various art forms and in writing. My art and writing both tend to focus on subjects of women's spirituality and occult mysteries, I read voraciously in most genres, but mainly Occult and urban fantasy, historical fiction, and non-fiction alternative history and religions from female perspective. In addition I am a lover of cats, with five at home with me; an avid collector of fashion dolls; a sewer and creator of art quilts and other fiber arts; a hap-hazard flower gardener; and a retired professional astrologer.
This entry was posted in Personal, reflections, writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

