I’ve Enjoyed aTheater Blitz this Last Week

For the past few years I have been subscribing to two Minneapolis theater’s season tickets: Our Hennepin Theater Trust Broadway series, and the Guthrie Theater in Minneapolis. The Broadway shows are always spectacular, while the Guthrie’s are a mix of traditional and modern productions.

Within the past ten days I saw “Pippin” at the Orpheum; “Oliver! ” at the Pantages, and “Midsummer Night’s Dream” at the Guthrie. Each one was remarkable and unique. I cannot say which I enjoyed most as they were all exceptional.

But this latest version of The Guthrie’s “Midsummer…” left both me and my companion breathless with wonder, laughter, and awe. The Guthrie has performed this Shakespeare play several times in the past, usually following the style of the Bard’s original scripts and its contemporary traditional adaptations. This time they did it in a modern format, with Twenty-first Century characters, but lighting, costuming and choreography retained the delightful mood magic. The woodland elves and fairies and their King Oberon and Queen Titania were exquisite, Puck and “Bottom” and the play within the play were all thoroughly delightful and funny. The stage craft was minimal, but very effective… scenes set mostly with lighting and a backdrop visual of woods and such. I cannot describe it properly… as I said, it left us speechless with wonder and delight.

About Manywoman

I am an eclectic artist and writer, retired from a 35-year career as a PhD sex therapist and counselor at the University of MN Medical School, Program in Human Sexuality. Since retiring in 2005, I have devoted myself to hobbies and pursuits in various art forms and in writing. My art and writing both tend to focus on subjects of women's spirituality and occult mysteries, I read voraciously in most genres, but mainly Occult and urban fantasy, historical fiction, and non-fiction alternative history and religions from female perspective. In addition I am a lover of cats, with five at home with me; an avid collector of fashion dolls; a sewer and creator of art quilts and other fiber arts; a hap-hazard flower gardener; and a retired professional astrologer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I’ve Enjoyed aTheater Blitz this Last Week

  1. lilypup says:

    Very nice reviews…really took me there. Am ill and do not get out as much as I would like. Thanks. http://lilypupslife.wordpress.com/

    Like

Leave a Reply

