Why am I here? What now?

My first post.  An exploration into blogger-land?  Not sure what this will be.  Just needing to find ways to promote my newly published book:  THE RAVEN WATCHED.

That seemed pretty cut and dried.  Simply a venue to talk about my first novel and get folks to read it.  Right?

Not so.  Now, having viewed some blogs by others and studied the WordPress formats and layouts, I see there is a whole lot more I want to do with this.  My imagination goes into overdrive and I cannot stop making lists of all the various hobbies and projects I could “show and tell” or openly brag about.  But mostly I could organize and record stuff for my own pleasure and possible use.

Yikes! I’m catching the “bloggy-bug” for sure here!  But now I am forced to dive in and try to conquer yet another mysterious internet program.  I designed and built my personal website (with HTML back in 2001) which I expected would be my place for showing and selling.  It is now long outdated and merely a relic of curiosity.  I have often used  computer magic to post my words and art and photographs on shared sites.  And I have taken more online classes than I can remember.  Despite all this, I still freeze in a panic when I begin a new computer program or join a public internet conversation.

I am a Pisces with Gemini rising.  That makes me a Dreamer, constantly chasing memories, ideas, images, words, fantasies, random thoughts, and flashes of inspiration triggered by whatever passes through my world.   And I love to TALK about it all!!

Here, on my new Blog, I may have found a place to capture and catalog these obsessions.  It could be a place to share my dreams and meanderings with others if they are interested, and to capture a few of those elusive insights before they float away.

I hope you will enjoy coming along on my ramble through this transcendental hodgepodge!

Those are words borrowed from one friend’s feedback for my book on Amazon.  And this brings me back to THE RAVEN WATCHED.

Friends are reading it, giving me glowing verbal comments, but few yet venturing into Amazon to give me feedback.  It frustrates me.  I want those stars to begin adding up so the book might get noticed by those who have authority to push it higher in lists.

I am a novice at this and basically NOT a business person.  I do not write for the ‘fame’ or ‘money’… (I am at least a little bit realistic!)   But since the book did get published after 12 years of my puttering with it… and now that those reading it seem to genuinely find it interesting and a good read,  I am eager for more people to read it.

So I invite anyone stopping to read this blog to go into Amazon and give it a look.

About Manywoman

I am an eclectic artist and writer, retired from a 35-year career as a PhD sex therapist and counselor at the University of MN Medical School, Program in Human Sexuality. Since retiring in 2005, I have devoted myself to hobbies and pursuits in various art forms and in writing. My art and writing both tend to focus on subjects of women's spirituality and occult mysteries, I read voraciously in most genres, but mainly Occult and urban fantasy, historical fiction, and non-fiction alternative history and religions from female perspective. In addition I am a lover of cats, with five at home with me; an avid collector of fashion dolls; a sewer and creator of art quilts and other fiber arts; a hap-hazard flower gardener; and a retired professional astrologer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

